27.—Fifteenth Ministry of Manitoba, as at Jan. 31, 1962

(Party standing at latest General Election, May 14, 1959: 36 Progressive Conservative, 11 Liberal and 10 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment			Date of Present Appointment		
Premier and Acting Provincial Treasurer	Hon. Dufferin Roblin				June		
Minister of Public Works	Hon. John W. M. Thompson	June	30,	1958	Dec.	17,	1959
Attorney General and Minister of Public Utilities	Hon. Sterling R. Lyon	June	30,	1958	June Oct.	31,	1961
Minister of Education	Hon. Stewart E. McLean	June	30,	1958	Aug. June		
Provincial Secretary and Minister of Industry and Commerce	Hon. Edward Gurney V. Evans Hon. George Johnson				Dec. Aug. June	17, 7,	1959 1959
Minister of Labour	Hon. J. B. CARROLL	June	30,	1958	Dec.	17,	1959
Minister of Mines and Natural Resources	Hon. CHARLES H. WITNEY	Aug.	7,	1959	Aug.	7,	1959
Minister of Agriculture and Conservation	Hon. George Hutton	Aug.	7,	1959	Aug.	7,	1959
Minister of Municipal Affairs	Hon. Walter Weir	Nov.	1,	1961	Nov.	1,	1961
Minister of Welfare	Hon. John Christianson	Nov.	1,	1961	Nov.	1,	1961

Subsection 8.—Saskatchewan

The Government of Saskatchewan consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Hon. F. L. Bastedo, Lieutenant-Governor at Jan. 31, 1962, was commissioned to office Jan. 27, 1958. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation (1905) are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 115.

The statutory number of members of the Legislative Assembly is 55, elected for a maximum term of five years. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 115.

The Premier receives \$9,500 and each Cabinet Minister \$8,000 annually in addition to a sessional indemnity. The Leader of the Opposition receives \$5,000 plus an office allowance of \$6,000 per annum, the Speaker \$2,500 and the Deputy Speaker \$1,500. The sessional indemnity of a member of the Legislature is \$3,200 together with an expense allowance of \$1,600. Members for the three northernmost constituencies of Cumberland, Athabasca and Meadow Lake each receive a \$3,500 sessional indemnity and a \$1,750 expense allowance.

28.—Legislatures of Saskatchewan, 1934-60, as at Jan. 31, 1962

Note.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 81, and for 1924-34 in the 1938 edition, p. 116.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of		
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution		
June 19, 1934 June 8, 1938 June 15, 1944 June 24, 1948 June 11, 1952 June 20, 1956 June 8, 1960	8th 9th 10th 11th 12th 11sth 11th 11th 11th 11th 11th 11th 1	4 6 5 5 4 4	Nov. 15, 1934 Jan. 19, 1939 Oct. 19, 1944 Feb. 10, 1949 Feb. 12, 1953 Feb. 14, 1957 Oct. 11, 1960	May 14, 1938 May 10, 1944 May 19, 1948 May 7, 1952 Apr. 25, 1956 May 4, 1960		

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at Jan. 31, 1962.